Around Town / Family / India

This and That

starbucks grand opening delhi_MG_5129February 05, 2013

Our computer seems about to meet its end.  We don’t yet know exactly when, but its coming soon.

I thought it was all over on Tuesday.  I’d been up late working nights and early mornings for weeks trying to ignore the creaking sounds coming from the hard drive.  Mere minutes before I was to upload a big project prototype online, the screen froze.  And froze again.  And continued to freeze instantly each of the seven times I hysterically punched the power button to reboot.

My resident computer genius and knight in shining armor did some research and typed in a few magical computer incantations.  Then we held our breaths and watched as our big beautiful machine gasped back to life, at least temporarily.

I spent the rest of the morning furiously uploading content and perusing a store down the street that, strangely enough, sells both high-end upholstery fabrics and slow-burning products from a country that rhymes with “scuba.”  By the end of the day my project was in the cloud and my better half/restorer of all things good and sane found himself in the procession of a very special “thank you/sorry for being a little nuts” smokey treat.

The machine is still unstable and creaking and prone to freeze 15 times during our weekly viewing of Top Chef, but we’re crossing our fingers that it can continue to limp and wheeze along until we hand-carry some sort of replacement home this summer.

Anyways, a few other highlights from the past week or so:

starbucks grand opening delhi_MG_5083February 05, 2013

Let it be said that Chris and I are some of the least interesting people in the entire foreign service.  We don’t do black-tie receptions or intrique-filled cocktail parties.  In fact, I don’t know anyone who does honestly.

But when an email landed in Chris’ inbox a few weeks ago, inviting us to the grand opening of Starbucks in New Delhi, we had to ask ourselves: in this Nescafe driven city, would there be real, free coffee involved?

starbucks grand opening delhi_MG_5096February 05, 2013

starbucks grand opening delhi_MG_5106February 05, 2013

starbucks grand opening delhi_MG_5101February 05, 2013

The hobnobbing socialites were fascinating, the store was gorgeous, the gift bag included a leftover Christmas mug and a 500 rupee Starbucks cards–though I doubt we’ll use them anytime soon.  The cavernous two-story store has lines out the door and around the block every time we drive by.

In a fascinating concession by Starbucks Corporation to its Tata partners, all of the espresso drinks are made from 100% Indian grown and roasted coffee beans.  And they taste good.

I don’t think we’ll be abandoning our home-brewing routine and the collection of interesting small-batch roasts we’ve begun to amass, but it might be fun to go back for a 100% Indian latte whenever the lines begin to die down, perhaps in 6 months or so.

mom and dad in old delhi_MG_5763February 10, 2013

I took my parents to Old Delhi this past week.  I think they loved it as much as I hoped they would, more pictures coming soon.

mom and dad in old delhi_MG_5733February 10, 2013

mom and dad in old delhi_MG_5719February 10, 2013

mom and dad in old delhi_MG_5788February 10, 2013

We have one more week with my parents in town and Will is beside himself with happiness getting to play outside with his patient grandparents all day long.  My little man who previously never let me out of his sight now squirms out of my arms to go out walking with his grandfather.  He won’t let me change his diaper in the morning until he’s gotten a chance to go downstairs for good morning waves and he won’t let me put him to bed until they’ve given him his goodnight kisses.  I wince thinking about how much they will miss each other after they leave next weekend.  There are many amazing opportunities and blessings that come with this foreign service lifestyle, but living on the other side of the world from so many people we love certainly isn’t one of them.

Today marks 6 months in Delhi.  It’s hard to believe this tour is already at least one-quarter over.  I’ve been planning a “Likes/Dislikes about Delhi” post for the 6 month mark for awhile, but the moment managed to creep up on me almost without me noticing.  Still, with only a few months until the big bidding season, I’ll share some thoughts as soon as I’m able.

How is your weekend going?

9 thoughts on “This and That

  1. Love that Will is growing so comfortable with his grandparents. Such a sweet relationship it is. It’s fun to attend those fancy parties once in awhile. Usually my invites come to me last minute through the hubby so the idea of taking a few days to figure out if we can get a sitter and I can wash my hair…are out! Last minute always seems to be the thing!

    • It is so sweet, its just killing me to think of them leaving tomorrow! I hear you, we never go to fancy things mostly becuase we have no desire to but it WAS kind of fun to get out and see something for once. I realized on our way over to the event that I never ever see Delhi after dark! So that alone was fun 🙂

  2. I’m sorry to hear your computer is dying… I went thru that not too long ago. I’m so happy that you are getting to enjoy your parents visit!!! Have fun and I look forward to your likes/dislikes. We are bidding this summer, too!!! I’m really excited!

    • Oooh that’s right you did! How terrible! I’m just looking forward to getting back to the states this summer to get a new machine and hoping this one lasts until then!

  3. Sorry to hear about your computer! Hope you get it figured out soon. I had actually thought about you recently and realized you hadn’t posted in a few days! So glad your parents were able to visit you… And I understand how quickly six months can go. We’ll be looking for your “likes/dislikes” post whenever you’re able! 🙂

  4. Gah! The dreaded family leaving or vice versa. We’re seeing my family next month and already I am dreading how quickly the time will fly 😦 How great that you are seeing that connection with Will and his grandparents, even though he is still so young. I was that baby with my grandparents too and wish I could remember that first visit 🙂 Hope you get that new computer soon!

    • Yes, its so much more painful than I ever realized it could be! The guilt, the readjustment to each other followed by the adjustment once you or they go back home. Its worth it though to see how happy Will and my parents are together. I’d almost move back to America to give them more time together if I could.

Leave a Reply

