Around Town / India

Seafood, Turkish pastries, Industrial Parks & Other Assorted Photos

On a less downer note, how about a few photos from the weekend?

Weekend Walking_MG_3449December 14, 2012

Self-portraiture outside Delhi’s finest (well, and only) Turkish cafe. It’s a real shame that most of my friends are either preggo or otherwise non-coffee drinkers. The petite little cups of Turkish coffee are sublime. As in I just about sat speechless for a moment after each small sip.

Weekend Walking_MG_3435December 14, 2012

The semolina and honey cake is also delicious…and the baklava…and the little phyllo rolls filled with crushed walnuts…I think my new motto should be: “Bid Istanbul 2014.”

Weekend Walking_MG_3318December 13, 2012

A few more shots from Qutub Minar.

Weekend Walking_MG_3299December 13, 2012

Delhi is our second land-locked post in a row but INA market carries fresh seafood flown or trucked up daily from Mumbai. It’s only safe to buy the amazing looking catch-of-the-day during the winter months (for most of the year the fish spoil before they reach the market) so we are taking advantage of the cooler temperatures right now.

Weekend Walking_MG_3373December 14, 2012

Weekend Walking_MG_3397December 14, 2012

Every time I go to INA, I buy a cup of chai from the chai walla I met on my early morning photo walk there a few months ago. Now I have another regular treat: spicy potato-stuffed paratha. The men shaping the dough, stirring the slurry of potatoes and flipping the hot bread with their bare hands get a kick out of Will and I coming by to say hi and buy paratha every week or so and they finally had a chance to meet Chris this last weekend. The paratha-makers actually run a proper restaurant across the alleyway as well and one of these days I hope to have time enough to go in and try it.

Weekend Walking_MG_3409December 14, 2012

Weekend Walking_MG_3403December 14, 2012

Weekend Walking_MG_3406December 14, 2012

It’s a common site here in Delhi, and across India to turn down a somewhat desolate side road and find oneself surrounded on all sides by drying laundry: towels and bed sheets and uniforms from the nearby hotels draped by the hundreds over makeshift clothes lines and patches of tall grass.

Weekend Walking_MG_3422December 14, 2012

Just a few photos from the car ride home yesterday:

countryside_MG_3593December 16, 2012

countryside_MG_3597December 16, 2012

This is the industrial park we drive through on my way out to the factory/school/NGO I volunteer with.  With the sun reflecting off of all of the concrete and grey gravel this is almost precisely what it looks like:

countryside_MG_3585December 16, 2012

The kids, of course, all wanted their photos taken when I visited the school. I’m saving most of those shots to print and frame and give to their parents at some point in the future, but I thought I’d share just one photo from yesterday:

kids_MG_3555December 16, 2012

How are you doing?

6 thoughts on “Seafood, Turkish pastries, Industrial Parks & Other Assorted Photos

  1. Hi Dani, Sent Will an X-mas gift, it may not arrive on time!! Love A.DebP.S. Some of your experiences in Dehli have been rather disturbing, listen to your inner voice my special neice and be well Date: Tue, 18 Dec 2012 11:26:47 +0000 To: debmart116@live.com

  2. Lovely photos, Dani! And yes, Istanbul is a dream post for us too. I need to come with you to INA sometime and try the chai and parathas for I have yet to try Indian street food…

    • Thanks Natasha but I’m sure your shots would be even better! And yes, those coffees and pastries make Delhi an incredibly nice place to live some days! 🙂

Leave a Reply

