China in Photos

Why You Need A Lens Filter

Last Import-10

Thursday  night we took Chris’ sister out for crabs.  It was the one thing she really wanted to do during her 3 weeks in America.

The crabs were delicious but it was one of “those meals” with an almost one year old in tow.

Not 10 minutes into the meal, Will had stretched my shirt out down to my navel, exposing my oh-so-attractive nursing bra to 40+ people.

A few minutes later Will tried Old Bay.  He didn’t like it.  Hysterics ensued.

I didn’t open a single crab the entire meal and instead spent most of it trying to console Will when I wouldn’t let him eat the sprinkler head in the pile of mulch down the street.

Oh and then there was the moment when I opened my camera bag to find shattered glass everywhere.  I know exactly how crushed I looked at that moment because Chris helpfully took a photo…with the camera that had been covered in pulverized glass just a minute before:

Last Import-5

Turns out though, the shattered glass belonged not to my expensive lens but to my $20 lens filter.  I don’t know what would have happened to my lens without it.

Filters can improve the quality of your photos and they can protect your camera from dust, dirt…and whatever happened that shattered my filter in the first place.  Worth it if you ask me.

Last Import-9

6 thoughts on “Why You Need A Lens Filter

  1. SO jealous of you eating crabs (the downside of vacation in a landlocked state and moving to a landlocked country). And eating out with toddlers is a public service to help validate those around you who decided not to have kids. We just tip extra for the mess and act like we’re in control and cool enough to still go out. Glad your lens is ok.

    • I wish I was joking when I say that after job and cost of living, proximity to coastline is the next most important priority to us when we bid on our next post! 🙂 Chengdu, now New Delhi? We practically wept with joy when they dumped the crabs on the table!

  2. I would give anything for some crabs and corn on the cob right now. Phew! What a meal and ordeal though with little ones. I love my lens filter too. I need one for my 50mm lens-which is what I use the most. Thanks for the reminder!

    • Crabs and corn, those are two things that are keeping me so happy to be here for the next few weeks! Yay for the nifty 50! I love that lens!

    • yes, crabs! You need crabs! If you ever need people to go eat crabs with, just let us know! Chris owes me a night where he wrangles the baby and I get to disassemble the crabs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

