Moments

Around Here

Martha Stewart I am not…

It’s about to be another one of those crazy/wonderful two weeks in which blogging will probably languish down somewhere near the bottom of my to-do list.

Family is coming into town, friends are coming into town.

Will’s first birthday is coming up.

I’m pulling an absurd amount of dried strawberry pulp out of the carpeting in our (rental!) apartment and cleaning up dust bunnies.

Chris’ sister is leaving for Delhi on Sunday.

We need to eat a lot of Vietnamese/Chinese/crabs before Sunday.

Stupid Pinterest inspired me to take up sewing.  I measure six times, cut once, pin my totally-not-even-close-to-straight-edged pieces together, mess up the directions three times, curse like a sailor and end up with rhombus-shaped cosmetic bags that, on Pinterest, look suspiciously, perfectly square.  It’s fun!

Oh and it seems like we’re in the process of buying everything ever sold at Target or on the internet.  Because who doesn’t do that one month before they leave the country?

This week I’m doing some non-blog writing.  Next week I’m doing an “All Things Baby” mini, mini-series.  It’s mini in that it’s only one week long and also in that the posts themselves will probably be pretty mini.  I’ve got all sorts of drafts that I’ve written over the last year, about Will, about babies, about baby gear, and I thought I’d take the best of the short ones and post them all in the week leading up to Will’s birthday.

Never fear though for those of you who would rather not read about babies.  After Will’s birthday we’ve only got 2.5 weeks until we leave (finally!) for New Delhi…

What are you up to this week?  Do you sew?  What’s the secret to cutting right angles and straight lines?

8 thoughts on “Around Here

  1. We, too, have begun to spend exorbitant amounts of money on Amazon, so that statement made me giggle! Since this will be our first post (Sarajevo, Aug 2012), one of my friends said that they spent nearly 5 grand in one month. They have consumables, though, and we don’t, so I don’t imagine us having to spend that much, but am preparing myself mentally in case we do! Also funny is that because of Pinterest, I’ve been wanting to learn how to crochet-it looks cheap and easy to transport. I mean, it seems that all you need is yarn and a stick. I think your sewing piece looks great! Good luck with everything!

    • It is amazing how much you can find to buy even if you aren’t going to a consummables post! For instance, Delhi isn’t a consummables post but we still managed to spend about $150 on soy sauce and other Asian ingredients because we know its cheaper and easier to buy them here than it is to locate them in India. Crocheting does look fun. My friend from Chengdu does some AMAZING knitting and crocheting, she puts some of it on her blog: http://mashawna.blogspot.com/.

  2. I think your sewing looks pretty awesome! Can’t wait to see what you come up with in the future. Hang in there these last few weeks. You’re almost there!

  3. The cosmetic bag looks lovely! I used to sew and have been looking at my sewing machine a lot lately but have yet to open it. Perhaps you’ll kick me in the butt and help me get it out and start sewing again. Look forward to it…

  4. Pinterest totally makes me want to sew, and then I don’t do anything about it and hate feeling ‘un-crafty’ and therefore now hate Pinterest (my husband knows this train of thought of mine all too well, poor guy). Ambitious first project for you, though. Can’t wait to see what’s next!

    • Well, if it makes you feel any better, nothing on Pinterest is ever as easy as it appears (and most of the recipes are kind of meh) but I do know the feeling! I need to remember that the more things I try to do the less time I have for the things I already like doing!

Leave a Reply

