Family / Moments

Happy Fourth, Happy Anniversary!

1437BWphoto by: Stephen Voss

Happy Fourth of July everybody!

It’s been three years since Chris and I began celebrating our interdependence by getting married on America’s Independence Day.

Once upon a time Chris convinced me that the 4th of July would be the perfect day for a wedding saying, “baby, there will always be fireworks for us…and I’ll always have the day off.”  He was right.  He won’t admit it, but he usually is.

People sometimes ask me how I find time to blog and write while taking care of little Will.  It’s partially because I spend so many nights glued to my laptop screen while Chris sits on the couch next to me, patiently waiting for a break in the keyboard clicking to tell me something funny or interesting or simply that he loves me.

Happily married people don’t need to spend every free moment staring deeply into one another’s eyes, but once in awhile it’s nice to do nothing but exactly that, or at least be totally available to do exactly that–laptop firmly shut and put away.

We don’t have any big, romantic plans for the day–it is the fourth of July after all, there is a grill to attend to.  But, even so, I’m taking a big, long break from the computer today to go for some “honeymoon coffee,” cook up a bunch of food, and watch some fireworks with the man who makes my world go round.

There aren’t words enough to say how amazing it is to get to live with, parent with, and travel around the world with Chris.  Our relationship is decidedly low-key, low-maintenance, low-drama–we don’t do gifts or big gestures or momentous moments.  But Chris has a way of making the everyday interesting, a way of smoothing of the rough corners of a busy day with quiet little acts of kindness and thoughtfulness.  He fills my days with laughter and fun and so much love that I sometimes can’t believe how lucky I am to get to hang out with him everyday.

Happy Anniversary my love, I love you.

8 thoughts on “Happy Fourth, Happy Anniversary!

    • Thanks Daniela! Love your family photo from the New Delhi 4th of July celebration…only about 5 more weeks and we’ll be there too!

  1. Happy Anniversary! We are also low-key, if drama even begins to flare up, tickles or a really silly phrase in really bad telenovela spanish eases the ambiance. Have a wonderful honeymoon coffee and an amazing day with the most amazing little thing that could come out of your wonderful marriage, Will.

Leave a Reply

