Around Town / Family / Moments

The Weekend

Camera Roll-320

I had such big plans for this weekend.  I had hoped we could grill out, go to a crawfish boil at Bayou Bakery, visit the DC Capital BBQ Festival, go to a Thai cultural festival in Georgetown, make a super-involved meatloaf recipe, make dumplings and go to our favorite Sichuanese restaurant in the District.

Clearly I must have been delusional when I thought of the above plan for the weekend.  Delusional and very hungry.  That’s a lot of meals, metro trips and miles of walking to cram into one weekend.

Throw in a few badly needed naps for baby, a few pre-India shopping errands and some poor time management, and well, we didn’t manage to cross anything off of our weekend to-do list (except, weirdly enough, the meatloaf).

That’s life sometimes.  Instead of being cultural go-getters this weekend we:

*Went for an impromptu picnic in Freedom Park.

*Helped Will turn the lights in our closet on and off (and on and off, and on and off, and on and….)

*Will sampled his first Cuban at Earl’s Sandwich Shop.

Camera Roll-284

*We got to Bayou Bakery too early to partake in the crawfish boil, but instead enjoyed the most amazing sweet tea and best red velvet cupcakes in the DC metro area.

*We discovered that the best (read: only) way to get Will to eat baby food is to let him suck it from a straw.

Camera Roll-285

*We discovered Will will try anything he can sample from a straw (including Mama’s iced latte).

*We took Will to the park and watched the Arlington County firefighters test their hoses and spray rainbows into the hot, humid morning air.

Camera Roll-321

*We made a ginger, hoisin, and bacon-laced meatloaf to freeze for later while Will took a nap.

*We took Will out for sushi and enjoyed watching as our waitress took a page out of the “Asian” baby book by playing with his toes for ten minutes straight and chastising me for his miso-soaked shirt while the rest of the restaurant looked on slightly confused and horrified.

*We bought new cutting boards.  I wouldn’t normally say this rates mentioning here but our favorite cutting boards are from Crate & Barrel and we only buy them when they are on sale–which they are right now.  50% off–kind of a steal, as far as nice cutting boards go.

*We realized that while 95 degrees in the shade is hot, it’s still not India hot.

What did you do with your weekend?  Did you manage to get to everything on your to-do list?

8 thoughts on “The Weekend

  1. That is funny Dani, you are getting to the second faze with Will where he really puts the pace on the day and spontaneity is the key word…..in other words do whatever Will wants to do… I remember those weekends…..

    • Haha, you are so right Bev! Chris and I took Will for a picnic dinner last night and, as we were talking while Will quietly played with some grass between us, I said “we won’t get to do this sort of thing so easily anymore once Will starts walking, will we?” Gah, it’s a whole new world about to open up around here! 🙂

  2. It took me a while after the kids were born to accept that the daily itinerary I’d mapped out in my mind wasn’t exactly going to go according to ‘plan’, and accepting this fact was hard won by my old self who’s ex-boyfriend used to say has a Gantt chart for my weekends. So this weekend went according to the little ones as usual, full of swimming and eating out and getting ready for pack out in between (thank goodness for long naps). Wish I had known about the cutting boards before the movers came yesterday. They look great!

  3. Hi Dani! I love your blog! My husband and I are headed to New Delhi also, so I am sure we will see you guys there 🙂 We don’t get there until February though, so I’m looking forward to your posts about it. I started a blog, but so far have been bad about actually writing anything….http://mcpeiler.blogspot.com/

    • Hi Megan, thanks so much! So excited we’re going to be in Delhi together! And you’re taking Hindi, good for you! You’ll be much better off than me that way. Is your husband doing Consular in Delhi or something else? If you ever want to grab coffee sometime before we leave, let me know!

      • Hey Dani! I’d definitely like to grab coffee sometime 🙂 Here’s my email – meganmcc5 @ gmail . com. Let’s make plans! I get out of language at 1245, every day except on Thursdays, we have to stay ’til 4.

      • Yay! This week is still a little busy but next week should be better, will send you a note over the weekend!

Leave a Reply

