Around Town / Baby

Saturday in the City

Camera Roll-222

Saturday morning we jumped on the metro bright and early to take Will for his inaugural zoo visit.  He didn’t entirely appreciate the gustatory appeal of the Open City croissants, (though he did enjoy dismantling them) but he did seem mildly intrigued by the Asian otters– at least until he fell asleep.

1 falafel, 1 Dupont Circle pit stop for Will, 2 coffees, 2 croissants, 2 cupcakes, and 6 hours later we made it back to Rosslyn; and we learned a few things on our day out in D.C.:

Camera Roll-244

1. Amsterdam falafel is still really, really good.

2. When you walk 6 hilly miles and all the way up 2 of the world’s longest escalators with an 18 pound baby strapped to your chest, it doesn’t matter how much junk food you eat along the way.  You will still be hungry for dinner at 4:30pm.  And you will want pizza-lots of it.

3. Will throws up when he eats grass.

4. When one is rekindling the semi-awkward “haven’t seen you in two years” relationship with the coffee guy at Open City, it’s best not to open with the line “weren’t you getting married when I last saw you?”  Look for the ring, damnit! Always look for the ring!

5. We miss D.C.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving our digs here in Rosslyn (1 block from the metro! Mariott points!  Huge closets!  In per diem!  Really nice ladies at the front desk!) but walking through our old neighborhood in D.C. Chris and I remembered why we liked it there so much.

P.S.  Food trucks!  DC finally has them!  Vietnamese slow-cooked pork salad with pickled daikon and lemongrass/fish sauce dressing?  Yes Please.  Next week I’m aiming for Korean.  So many trucks!  So little time!

Camera Roll-236

P.P.S. Can’t get enough of my “let me tell you everything I think about living overseas” ramblings?  Natasha over at La Vie Overseas just ran an interview with yours truly.  Guys, she is as lovely in person as she is on her blog, check her out!

P.P.P.S  I finally pulled the trigger on not just one but two new lenses for my photography habit.  Gigantic white L series telephoto lenses with red rings on them.  Just kidding!  I’ll post about them when they get here.  Until then you’ll know where to find me…hitting refresh on that “track shipment” button on Amazon.

Camera Roll-225

12 thoughts on “Saturday in the City

  1. Hi Dani! We miss DC, too! I visited with Evan last fall and I fell in love with it all over again! I can’t wait to read about your new lenses. I’m considering getting a new one but I’m unsure of what to get. As always, beautiful pics of Will!

      • Nikon D5000. The standard 18-55 that comes with the camera and the fourth love of my life Nikon 50mm f/1.8. It was not expensive and so far it’s been the best to shoot the non-mobile baby…. I was thinking of a zoom or a 18-70 but they are super expensive…. Will have to think about it and see your reviews! =)

    • Well, they were non-Oakwood until a few weeks ago. We are staying in a Mariott Exec-U-Stay, but Marriott just sold the program to none other than…Oakwood! I think though this program still gets you Marriott points, its just you can’t sign a lease through the Foreign Service agreement, you have to do it independently and pay out of pocket for reimbursement. Exec-U-Stay has been wonderful to us though, they let us front-load our lease to jive with our per diem rates, the staff is lovely and the apartment is more than adequate for us. We’re only about 1.5 blocks away from the Oakwood Rosslyn and we’re really happy here.

  2. Will next to your pretty scarf with his snuff-a-luffagus eyelashes!??!! I’m not sure I’ve ever seen anything so sweet and perfectly composed. I’ve always dug your blog- but recently- it’s a full blown blog-crush. Keep up the good work, comrade!

    • haha gotta love Instagram! 🙂 Thanks Eve! I appreciate it! Also, apropos of nothing, I might have to put you on professional retainer in a few months when I finally get my hands on a sewing machine–I’m going to attempt to make my own perfect tote bag??

  3. I have been enjoying your blog for a few months but this list really made me laugh. Beautiful photos, too. And Oakwood, we stayed in one of those! My husband is not in the FS, so I never expected this life. Some days I love it, other days I dream of an actual home with our actual belongings. It’s fun to read the experiences of other trailing spouses (accidental or not).

    • Thanks Erin! I too have been reading your blog for months and I love reading about all of your adventures in Ireland and raising the twins! Foreign Service or not, living overseas with a family is always a unique experience. such a mix of normal everyday life and random interesting bits that sometimes come out of nowhere. I hear you on the actual home with actual belongings. I find myself reading so many home renovation blogs now it seems like! Living vicariously through those with permanent addresses!

  4. Pingback: Notable in 2012 | Hot Pot

Leave a Reply

