Baby / Food

First Meal…

If you can call it that.  We planned on the first meal being much more about “exploring” food rather than eating it.

We weren’t disappointed.  The table ate a lot more of our yuppie organic probiotic brown rice cereal mush than Will did.

As I suspected would be the case, he thinks rice cereal is gross and he is far more interested in holding the spoon for himself than in anyone else doing it for him.  Rice cereal is no more interesting when we add breast milk, sweet potato puree, or even prune puree.  He spits it all out.  According to all of the supposed “signs” though, he’s ready for solids.  He sits up by himself, he’s lost the tongue thrust, he shows interest in our food, etc, etc.

I don’t know how I feel about this whole “baby food” thing.  We’ve given Will a lightly-steamed stalk of Chinese broccoli to gum on a few times for fun and he’s loved it.  Ditto with the bit of banana he swiped from me the other day before I could stop him.

What’s the deal with giving babies bland purees? If breast-milk is spicy or garlicky or whatever flavor I’m eating, wouldn’t Will want more of the same?  If he likes gnawing on solid toys, wouldn’t he enjoy gnawing on solid foods more than mush?  He doesn’t mind putting a very, very, very tiny piece of cucumber in his mouth (though he won’t swallow it) but he screws his lips shut if we try to give him anything mushy on a spoon, even though spoons are one of his favorite “toys.”  Could it be because he’s already 6 months old in a few days?  Maybe we missed the mushy food window?

I’m not sure how I feel about hard-core baby-led-weaning, but I’m thinking we might experiment with more solid, solid foods for the time being.  We can buy imported avocados here right now, albeit for a high price, so we might try that.  Aren’t those supposed to be a baby superfood?  Or maybe some yogurt?

In any case, I think we may be getting more use out of these neat little products than the little baby bowls and spoons we bought him.  “Food is just for fun until one” right?

Did your baby like mushy foods?  What was the first food your kid liked?

4 thoughts on “First Meal…

  1. You need to give him some time and keep trying. A lot of babies don’t take to spoon feeding right away. I personally avoided rice cereal with mine because it constipates them. I gave them oatmeal cereal instead. For Max in the beginning I didn’t worry so much about how much he was eating. It was mostly for him to get used to the spoon and gradually get the mechanics of spoon feeding. After the fifth month I also regularly put a spoon or two of oatmeal cereal in his breast milk. But every kid is different. My son is way more interested in what we eat than our daughter ever was. He would just sit there and watch us eat with his mouth open following each spoon we put in our mouth with his eyes like a little bird. He was eating the mushy baby stuff at the time – fruit and vegetable purees although he really didn’t care for vegetables that much. So about seven months, I think, I started giving him tiny pieces of what we ate – bread, fish, scrambled eggs. I had been doing that for a while when his doctor told me that they say you shouldn’t give eggs and fish before a year (potential allergies) but he did well with them, so we kept giving them. I then introduced little pieces of meat, cheese, pasta and then around 10 months yogurt. I wanted to start with plain yogurt because my daughter used to like it with cheerios, but Max was not into it. So then I found fruit flavored yogurt (something organic) and he absolutely loves that now. He is almost a year old and diluted (1:1 to cut down on the sugar) fruit flavored yogurt has pretty much replaced breast milk. He has several bottles of it a day plus whatever we are eating. Hope this helps.

  2. Man. We had one kid who wouldn’t let us feed her anything, always wanted the spoon, etc. (She also liked to nurse standing up. That didn’t last long.) We ended up taking a food mill everywhere and just grinding up some of the stuff we were eating and putting it on her tray/plate. She fed herself from then on. ‘Bout drove me crazy till we did that. One upside was that we ate healthier since she was eating everything we did 🙂 We used those feeding bag things with all of our kids too. Loved them! Especially when the kids were teething and we could fill them with frozen fruit/veggies and they could chew away the pain. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll figure out something that works for all of you.

  3. It is so funny how different kids react to the same stuff isn’t it? Daniela, I’m glad to hear that you went ahead with the bread, fish, etc, that’s kind of what I’m hoping to do too. Becky, I love the idea of grinding every thing up and letting Will feed himself. My only hesitation is that I’m not sure when to start relaxing on the one new food at a time thing. If I literally waited 3 days before introducing each new food that we eat on a regular basis, this kid wouldn’t be able to eat with us until he’s 3 years old! What did you do?

    • We started with one ingredient stuff. So, if I was making mashed potatoes, I’d pull out some for her before I added the other spices and things. I’d give her some steamed broccoli before I added salt, etc. When our kids were smaller, we were trying to get them used to variety of fruits and veggies. So, before meals, I’d put a plate of some type of veggie or fruit out (usually veggie) that they could munch on while we cooked. They didn’t whine about being hungry while I finished the rest of dinner, they filled up on veggies, and I didn’t have to nag anyone at dinner. So, it was easy to snag some of those veggie for her too. Honestly though, we didn’t worry about it a ton with her. She was our 4th kid. She progressed from one ingredient stuff to full meal stuff pretty quickly. (9 months old I think.) By kid 4, we’d been super careful with the other kids and they still had allergies and stuff. It seems to really be ruled by genetics in our case. I can’t eat wheat, neither can two of our kids. My husband doesn’t handle dairy well, neither do the other two kids. Our 3rd kid had a total favorite food by the time she was 1. It was good, Thai coconut curry. We introduced them to a variety of foods pretty quickly. Our son reacted to bananas as a baby but is fine with them now. I guess what I am trying to say is that we were super strict with the first two and really loose about it with the second two and we seemed to get the same results. If your kid does have an allergy, it’s easy to blame yourself but really it seems like there isn’t a whole lot you can do to control it, at least not in our case. The only things we were super strict on with all the kids were 1 no honey before 1 and 2 no nuts or legumes before 1. Other than that, we plowed through a variety of stuff pretty quickly. It helped me to do it with recipes in mind. (Okay, I want to make X, that means he needs to try ingredients abcdefghijk. We can do that in a month.)

      Also, I only used the one food every three days thing until they were a little bigger (I’d say 9-12 months). By 9 months or so, they were eating a variety of things. For me it helped to look at a recipe and see what the components were and try them one by one. Then it would equal a meal in the end. Does that make sense? So if I was making spaghetti that night, I’d try noodles, or tomatoes or something on the kid. By the time the child was eating on his/her own fully, they’d tried most stuff. We only went with 48 hours lots of times though. The 72 hour rule makes sense to me though. That’s about how long it takes for the wheat to stop dragging me down.

      We did go back to the same 72 hour rule thing when we were trying to figure out what was making us “wheaties” sick. Three days on rice, three days on broccoli, three days on chicken, three days on mango, etc. It helped me to look at it as building something not doing one at a time. (So, it wasn’t bananas for three days and then rice for three days; it was bananas for three days, then add rice, then add potatoes, etc. Made it less depressing since I had to do it too.)

      Anyway, that’s a huge ramble. I hope it sorta makes sense. It’s late here and I’m about to turn in. I hope you are able to get it figured out! Kids definitely have their own tastes and preferences. The best advice someone ever gave me was “Don’t take your kids’ food choices personally.” If our kids say they hate something, we shrug and keep eating. Non event. Though we do sometimes remind them that it is most polite just not to mention it at all. (And then my hubby usually asks if he can have their portion. That’s when they usually try it and like it. Sigh.) We also had a doc that told us that our own perceptions about our kids’ behavior and health were really important and could never be replicated by a 10 min office visit. That gave me a lot of confidence as a parent to pay attention to my kids and to know when to push for answers to why they were ill. I was the one who noticed that our daughter’s growth curve was off and that taking wheat out of her diet made a change. I think that Dr.s advice helped me take care of my kids on the food front more than any sort of arbitrary feeding rule. Good luck with everything! You are an awesome mom!

Leave a Reply

