Baby / Family

Will’s Nai Nai

Some people may look at the truly absurd number of photos I take of Will and assume that I am just totally off-the-rails nuts about preserving my son’s baby-ness for posterity.

This is actually only partially true.  I love taking pictures of Will because he’s my son and because I think he’s just about the greatest thing ever, but more than that, I like taking pictures of Will for 2 very unsentimental reasons:

1) He doesn’t pose;

2) He doesn’t protest.

Photography is a hobby of mine in the truest sense of the word.  I have no innate gift for it, I just truly enjoy learning the skills and the art of taking a great shot.  Once in awhile I succeed, many, many more times I miss.  The only way to get better though is to practice and Will makes an excellent practice subject.  He’s available 24/7 and he doesn’t whine or make faces at me when I pull out my camera-yet.  I’m sure those days will come.

The nice thing about going on vacation with Chris’ family though (besides their company of course!) is that between all of the distractions of environment and each other, and the ever-present need to determine exactly where and when we should eat our next meal (I love a family where this is THE big decision of the day), no one really notices when I start snapping away with my camera.

And so I get to take photos of people who aren’t posing, aren’t protesting, and aren’t my son.

 

Chris’ mother is one of my favorite subjects.  I love the way her energy and her joy just radiate.  The woman has more energy than anyone I know, besides my own mother, and I’m just about the luckiest girl in the world to have her as my mother-in-law.  I’ve learned so much from her, how to cook countless dishes, how to arrange a room, how to never take no as a final answer, how to imagine possibilities outside the box.

Living overseas I miss my own mom terribly.  We email and talk on Skype almost everyday and it’s never quite enough to make up for being in the same place, hanging out in the kitchen and chatting and cooking.  If my mom would ever react to my camera with anything less than a scream of horror and a mad dash to the other room, Im sure I would have many beautiful photos of her.  Love you Mom.  🙂

I am lucky though to have Chris’ mom here in China with us.  It makes missing my own mom a little bit easier.  She’s an amazing and beautiful person inside and out and I’m just glad I had the chance to get these photos of her in Thailand.

3 thoughts on “Will’s Nai Nai

  1. Danielle I am happy Leah left me all your photos and comments to read, since I am not in any face book. I think too you are so lucky to have Josephine as your mother in low; she is also one of my favorite people. It was so nice to meet you and see Chriss and your beautiful William; only I hope we will have the oportunity to meet you again. Love, Luz Marina

  2. danielle, these photos are beautiful. i’ve been loving reading your blog posts – haven’t had time to comment on them all, but i will eventually 🙂 you are a great writer and photographer, and such a thoughtful mom (and daughter-in-law!). keep writing and taking photos!!

    • pshh you and your mother-in-law are making me blush!!! Thailand makes photography easier! I love reading your blog. Keep writing, its really so very good, far better than my prattle. 🙂 I really have to get those photos of Chris and Ian to you guys, they are a riot.

Leave a Reply

