Baby

This Kid…

…there are no words really.

I just wanted to say that I like kissing his feet and I like the way he focuses so intently when he’s sitting in his new chair, playing with his rattle.  I like the giant wide-mouth grin he gives me when I take him in my arms.  I like the way his legs kick with excitement whenever we show him the “baby in the mirror.”   I like the funny new noises he makes and the way he sometimes raises one eyebrow at us in an absurdly sweet all-knowing sort of way.

Some days are long.

Some days it seems like I do nothing but rock the kid to sleep with little success.

Sometimes he cries and he only wants his mama and it makes me sad because I want him to let his dad comfort him too.

Sometimes I wonder what my record is for number of clothing items covered in spit-up/pee/poop in one day.

Sometimes I think babies may be a marketing ploy by the battery industry to remain relevant in an increasingly wall-charging world.

But most of the time, I just think he’s awesome.  Life is good.

Leave a Reply

