Baby

25 Week Update

Technically the photo above is from 24 weeks, but you get the idea: big belly, stretchy shirts, still can’t take a good self-portrait, etc

Baby Movement: Kicks when I lay in bed at night, after a sugary snack, whenever I’m sitting around for a few hours, oh and whenever I’m slouching badly.  Baby doesn’t like bad posture.  Baby also kicked Chris in the face while he was talking to my belly the other morning.  It was actually kind of cute.  

My Movement: At a bbq last Saturday I accidentally kicked a friend’s sunglasses across the patio because I couldn’t  see them lying on the ground underneath my ginormous belly.  Strange but true.

Belly Button: Is now a slit where there used to be an “innie.”  Not quite sure where we go from here…  Also starting to get that line bifurcating my tummy.  I’m thinking about drawing the continents on and using the line as the Prime Meridian.  Helpful for figuring out time zones!

Weight: I’m gaining it.  So far, so good for “staying in the lines,” somewhere in the neighborhood of 12ish pounds.  It’s strange though how pregnancy makes you gain weight in different places.  In my previous life whenever I gained a few pounds, it showed up in my arms and in my face.  I hated it.  Now though, whatever doesn’t go to my boobs or my belly seems to head straight to my thighs and my butt.  I consider this an improvement–a little junk in the trunk is never a bad thing in my opinion.

Cravings: A croque monsieur.  Prior to pregnancy, I ate very little meat, very little cheese.  Now, creamy cheesy + meat = delicious.

Baby Gear: We bought a stroller and an Ergo baby carrier and shipped them to my parents’ house, just to get the ball rolling.  I also bought 3 cloth diapers just to check out some different brands pior to Thumper’s arrival.  We’ll save the big diaper order for after he’s born and we have a sense for what works best.  Dude, they are freaking adorable though:

Source

Source

Source 

Gah, I now know the real reason people cloth-diaper.  Forget the environment and the cost-savings, they are just too cute!!

In another somewhat related baby news…we’re moving!  Again!  This has been sort of an up-in-the-air thing for awhile so it feels really good to know finally where we’ll be setting up Thumper’s nursery.  And we’ll even have a dresser (and room for a dresser!) for all of his teeny tiny little baby clothes!  If I’m sparse around these parts for the next couple weeks it’s because I’m packing and unpacking boxes.  Yay!  I perversely love moving.  So much organizing and purging!  It’s the perfect outlet for all of my nesting urges at the moment!

Tomorrow (or today, or yesterday, depending on when I post this) I go for my glucose test.  They are making me fast until 9am.  I’m seriously wondering how I’m going to last that long without food.  I am a breakfast girl.   I can’t describe to you what a morning without breakfast is like for me because it has seriously never happened.   I’ll skip lunch, dinner, snack, but breakfast is a non-negotiable.  In fact, I often eat 2 breakfasts on the weekends-one at 6:30 or 7am when I wake up and one whenever Chris wakes up.

The thought of waiting until 9am to eat-especially now that I’m waking up in the middle of the night with my stomach growling–has me a bit perturbed.  I’ll let you know if I make it to the appointment without fainting or throwing a low blood-sugar temper tantrum.

And that’s all on the Thumper front for the moment!  I’ll leave you though with a fun pregnancy fact: in the US, women are told to gain between 25-35 pounds, more if you are really skinny, less if you are on the heavier side.  

In China, on the other hand, it is expected that you’ll gain anywhere between 20 and 30 kilos.  In other words, basically double what’s “expected” in the U.S.  I don’t know if that’s the doctor’s orders or just a side effect of pregnancy being such a celebrated event in China, but either way, interesting!  I guess in a country where the vast majority of babies are delivered via c-section (many hospitals wont even do vaginal births anymore), it doesn’t matter as much how big the baby gets?

One thought on “25 Week Update

Leave a Reply

