China in Photos

China in Photos: Day No. 85 In Which Its My Birthday And Reflect on 3 Days of Dessert

That’s right.  Once again I get one year closer to my age actually matching the old soul everyone is always saying I have.

An appointment with our 3rd electrician around 7pm meant that we couldn’t do too much to celebrate the actual day.  (And no, the electricity is STILL not fixed, we STILL have our fridge hooked up to the living room)  The past 3 days made up such an awesome birthday weekend though, it hardly matters.

In the past 3 days I have consumed wayy too much sushi, sake, ice cream, tiramisu, and a delicious slice of Indonesian spice cake, complete with birthday candles and everything.  Tonight we topped off the birthday dessert indulgences with a few treats from the only Japanese bakery in town: Free Mori.  The delicious mango, coconut, and green tea “jellies” and chocolate cookies also came in the most awesome and adorable packaging. Have I mentioned that I’m a sucker for good packaging?

Not having an oven with which to cook a birthday cake this year seems to have worked out pretty well, in retrospect.

We topped off the dessert-heavy theme tonight by watching Top Chef: Just Desserts.

Totally awesome, my friends.  I love desserts, I love the precision and fantasy of pastry.  I love that this is a serious cooking show that also has some serious personalities.  Good things to come my friends, good things.

Now if only I could get someone to fix our oven/electricity…

One thought on “China in Photos: Day No. 85 In Which Its My Birthday And Reflect on 3 Days of Dessert

Leave a Reply

