China in Photos

China in Photos: Day No. 64 In Which I Go to Work & Post Some People Photos

I went to work today for the first time since we moved to China.

I put on mascara and a pair of heels.

Ok, let’s be honest, I also put on real pants before 10am for the first time in weeks.

But, of course, the thing about working for the good ol’ US of A means no bringing my camera to work.  No blogging during work hours.

So I thought instead I’d post some more pictures from our run yesterday.

I’m not always so good at people shots here.  Even though dozens of people take photos of me on their camera phones everyday, I still feel uncomfortable unless the person knows and is ok with me taking their photo.

Luckily, when people stop their cars and bikes and trucks in the middle of a switchback up the side of a mountain highway to stare at our Hash House Harrier shenanigans, they are usually ok with me snapping away.  It feels more like a fair trade: they get crazy lao wai entertainment and I document the whole thing.  Sometimes the spectators even join the revelers in the fun.

Given this whole “work” and “workplace security” thing I’ll probably be doing a lot more “a photo a day” posts like this.  Which is to say, I’ll try to keep posting a photo a day, but they may be photos from the weekend or even a few months ago.

I’m sure a few of my fellow EFM (or E’FM) readers are probably wandering about the job and what its like.  It’s hard to say after one day but so far, so good.  I’ll try for a more useful report than that towards the end of the week.

Until then…

Happy Monday!

One thought on “China in Photos: Day No. 64 In Which I Go to Work & Post Some People Photos

  1. Congrats on the gainful employment. This EFM should be looking for work instead of catching up on blogs. Nice photos – I agree, it’s really hard to snap photos of passersby.

Leave a Reply

