China in Photos

China in Photos: Day No. 51 In Which I ponder Broken Dishes and Turn a Corner…

The other day Chris and I made a pilgrimage to the wholesale dish market on the far side of town.

While you won’t find much in the way of variety here, you can still find nearly any kitchen appliance or accessory you could possibly desire-and then some.

Though I love wandering the stalls and dreaming of a massive kitchen in which I could fit everything I would like to purchase, I’m always fascinated by the boxes of broken and dirty dishes that sit outside all of the stalls.

Why are they all dirty?  Why are they discarded?

I don’t know yet but it was something I thought about a lot today for some reason when I got bored with sleeping and staring at the ceiling.

And speaking of laying in bed all day, I think I’ve finally turned a corner.  It’s 9pm and I’m still awake and I’m hungry for the first time in days.

It’s a wonder what the combination of antibiotics, hot showers, well-timed doses of Advil, and Terry Prachett novels can do to cure one’s ills.

Leave a Reply

