Food

Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies: A Recipe (Hat tip: Joy the Baker)

peanut butter bacon cookie

The things we do for the people we love.

I mean seriously. I wake up everyday and think about how lucky I am to have married a man who thinks its cute when I end up sleeping diagonally in our (not-large) bed, a guy who jumps up to grab the computer cord for me from the other room when I’m deep in writing-mode and the laptop is about to die, a guy who helps me edit my resume, who washes the dishes, and who always lets me pick first. I really am such a lucky gal.

peanut butter bacon cookies

Not that I’m shirking my wifely duties. I get up at 6:30am every morning even though I don’t have to so that my chronically sleepy husband doesn’t have to get up and ready alone. I make a mean cup of coffee. I give back massages after long days at work. I say things like “Sure! Let’s watch that Start Trek movie again!”

But I think my finest achievement in the husband-loving department thus far comes down to this recipe: cookies with bacon and peanut butter in them.

Say it with me: ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

You have no words either right? That’s exactly how I felt when I first read this recipe over on Joy the Baker’s blog. You know that feeling of pure excitement and joy when you find the perfect gift for someone or that timely funny bit in the paper that will make them fall out of their chair laughing? That’s what this recipe is to me and my love life right now.

peanut butter bacon cookie dough

My husband subscribes to the “Everything is better with bacon” philosophy of life. He is also a great lover of peanut butter, whether it be on bread, on noodles, or in any other form. (He also believes that “everything is funnier when a monkey is involved” but that’s a story for a different post)

He loves bacon,all pork products really, but especially bacon. If there’s bacon on a menu, he’s probably ordering it. If we are making brunch, there will be bacon. He even owns bacon-flavored salt. He once researched whether we could afford to buy and eat a whole pig over the course of a year. This man has devotion.

Which is why this recipe so perfectly expresses my love. It’s bacon, with peanut-butter, in a cookie. Can it get any more perfect than that?

Making these cookies took some doing: a few trips to the grocery store, measuring out the ingredients one tablespoon at a time because that’s the only measuring devise I currently possess, but it was so worth it.

This isn’t just bacon and peanut butter, this is love-in cookie form.

It’s over-the-top sweet and salty; chewy, yet delicate. It’s ingredient list reads like a who’s who of everything your doctor ever told you to have only in moderation: sugar, high-fat peanut butter, oh yea and bacon.

And you know, the thing about love (and cookies) is that the more you have, the more you have to share. So it only seemed right to bring these cookies on a road trip to meet some of our new friends here in Chengdu.  Let’s just say they were received warmly, with a loving reverence for the bacon bits within.

This recipe is totally not my creation, I got it from Joy the Baker who got it from…somebody.  Her post is also a thing of beauty so check it out.  Otherwise, here’s my version of the recipe:

Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

Ingredients (only 5!!)

1 cup sugar (1/2 white, 1/2 brown or all brown-brown is always better in these sorts of things I think, whatever you do- don’t use very coarse sugar-not so good texture wise)

6 pieces of bacon, cooked, cooled and chopped (the better bacon you use, the better and more pronounced the bacon-y goodness)

1 cup chunky peanut butter (you could do smooth but chunky adds something I think)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 egg (it helps if you mix it up before adding it to the mix I think)

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

2.Combine peanut butter and sugar and beat until well combined (2 minutes by hand mixer, 5ish minutes by hand)

3. Add in baking soda and egg and stir until all evenly distributed (again about 2 minutes by mixer, 5ish by hand).  The dough should be a sort of tacky peanut butter glob now, almost ready for rolling into balls of goodness.

4. Fold in your chopped bacon until even distributed.  Feel free to add extra.

5. Roll the dough into walnut-sized balls and press down lightly with a fork to create that nice peanut butter cooking pattern

6. Bake at 350 degrees for about 10-12 minutes until the cookies are lightly browned and slightly spread out

7. Let cool on pan for 5 minutes to maintain cookie’s integrity of shape (otherwise all you’ll get is crumbs).  Then, transfer to a baking rack.

8. Share the love…and the cookies

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies: A Recipe (Hat tip: Joy the Baker)

  1. I was just browsing through some other food blogs since I recently started my own. I’ve heard of chocolate dipped baked and bacon ice cream… but never bacon cookies. Personally, I think these sound delicious. I wonder if this would translate well to a bacon chocolate chip cookie? 🙂

    • Hmmm it might! The dough isn’t overly wet so doesn’t form a very cohesive dough. The chips might fall out a bit but I think it could still work. Sounds delicious! Let me know how they are!

Leave a Reply

