Food

Bread Recipes I’m Jonesing to Make

I’m feeling low on writing inspiration tonight.  We had a (fun) but long day that involved car shopping which involved ethical dilemmas about SUVs vs. impractical 2-door Jeep Wranglers, which involved predictions for backcountry roads in China and discussions about hypothetical future children.  All of which led us to throw up our hands, abandon ship, and drive clear across town for a few soothing bowls of ramen.  Ramen, and Ren’s crazy, wonderful miso broth fixes everything.

Everything except my desire to return to and use the big questions of the day as fodder this blog post.  So instead, I’m going to share with you my intense bread-baking and eating desires of late.  I don’t know why, but I am currently more obsessed with bread now than I’ve been since I was a 6 year old surviving solely on buttered toast and chicken strips (yes I was that child.  For anyone with picky kids out there: know that there is hope, I now eat EVERYTHING except when everything includes broccoli-but that is the only exception).

I’m craving that potent yeasty smell wafting off of a rising loaf and the deliciousness of cutting into a still-warm loaf and smothering a thick slice with a big melting pat of butter and jam.  I don’t think I’m going to get over this carb-crush until I do some serious bread-baking.  Yum, yum, yum.  Here’s what’s on tap for the next few weeks of loaves and other assorted bread products:

Smitten Kitchen’s Rye Bread Recipe

More No-Knead Bread from Macheesmo-this time with olives.  Because I’m also craving salty, briny, goodness.

Sourdough Bagels from Chocolate and Zucchini.  Because Chris and I looked at each other over breakfast this morning and said “we should make our own bagels soon” and I said “ah! I have just the recipe!”

Mrs. O’Callaghan’s Soda Bread from the latest Bon Appetite issue that I treated myself to today.  Because I heart soda bread and its almost St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

