Around Town / Food / Uncategorized

Crabs!

In honor of my sister-in-law’s impending move to Munich, we spent the weekend gorging ourselves on all of her favorite foods. Before the beer and schnitzel must come lots of Korean bbq, American burgers, and of course, Maryland blue crabs-lots and lots of blue crabs.

On the Dock, the most entertaining place to buy Maryland Blue Crabs

On the Dock, the most entertaining place to buy Maryland Blue Crabs


Loading up the bounty-I know I sound callous don't I?

Loading up the bounty-I know I sound callous don't I?


the beautiful blue
The crab-buying scene

The crab-buying scene


The cooking line is a place of fierce competition, a true show of human nature

The cooking line is a place of fierce competition, a true show of human nature


I've quickly learned that Old Bay is a necessity

I've quickly learned that Old Bay is a necessity

The Old Bay is, of course, traditional and integral to the “Pain is Glory” ethos of eating crab. Ideally you should finish up with a stinging Old Bay ring around your mouth, stinging, cut-up fingertips, and a mound of exo-skeletons in front of you. (like I said, callous)

But you can also eat the crabs Vietnamese style, with a deceptively simple salt/lime/pepper mixture. That’s how I like my crabs-dredged in the stuff.

cooked crabs

Oh the gluttony!

Oh the gluttony!


The Crab-eating Team

The Crab-eating Team


My very happy sister-in-law

My very happy sister-in-law

And that was our night of crab-eating, just one meal in a series of amazing meals from the weekend. 大姐, this one is for you.

2 thoughts on “Crabs!

  1. Pingback: A Few Changes & Some Hot Pot Housekeeping « Hot Pot

  2. Pingback: A trip to the zoo: a D.C. love story « Hot Pot

Leave a Reply

